Sci & Tech

Russian Space Agency names next crew to ISS   2011-10-24 22:59:58 FeedbackPrintRSS

MOSCOW, Oct. 24 (Xinhua) -- The Russian Space Agency Roscosmos confirmed on Monday the list of next crew members who will fly to the International Space Station (ISS) on Nov. 14.

Russia's Soyuz TMA-22 spacecraft will bring Russian cosmonauts Anton Shkaplerov and Anatoly Ivanishin and American astronaut Daniel Burbank to the ISS for a 124-day-long mission.

Russia's Gennady Padalka and Sergei Revin and American Josef Akaba are announced as the backup crew.

According to the Roscosmos, the new crew will host one manned and three unmanned cargo ships during their stay in the ISS and conduct a space walk as well as 37 scientific experiments.

During the new crew's stay, the ISS would also make its 75,000th revolution around the Earth, the Roscosmos said.

The launch of the Soyuz TMA-22 was initially scheduled on Sept. 22, but was postponed after the failed launch of the Progress cargo ship to the ISS on Aug. 24.

Editor: Mu Xuequan
Related News
Home >> Sci & Tech Feedback Print RSS