Home Page | Photos | Video | Forum | Most Popular | Special Reports | Biz China Weekly
Make Us Your Home Page
Most Searched: MH 17  Gaza  Ukraine  Prince George  Mexico quake  

Barroso underlines EU's regret over Russia's import ban

English.news.cn   2014-08-12 01:40:38

BRUSSELS, Aug. 11 (Xinhua) -- European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso Monday underlined the European Union (EU)'s regret over Russia's announcement of import ban on food and agricultural products from the EU.

Barroso made the remarks during a phone call made to Russian President Vladimir Putin regarding the situation in Ukraine, according to an EU statement.

Speaking with Putin, Barroso underlined the EU's regret at Russia's announcement of measures targeting food and agricultural imports, reserving the EU's right to take action as appropriate.

Both leaders agreed on the need to keep the channels of communication open on matters of relevance, namely on the economic and energy fields, as well as on the overall bilateral relations, the statement said.

Barroso offered to Putin the possibility "to work together in support of stabilising Ukraine, including through the national dialogue on constitutional reform and decentralisation."

During the phone conversation, Barroso also "warned against any unilateral military actions in Ukraine, under any pretext, including humanitarian."

Barroso also addressed the active role of the European Commission in helping Ukraine and Russia to identify solutions to questions raised in the on-going consultations on the impact of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement, as well as regarding gas supply in forthcoming energy-related discussions.

Also on Monday, Barroso talked with Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko over telephone, emphasizing EU's readiness to increase its support to the Ukrainian government-led humanitarian response efforts, according to the statement.

Russia announced on Thursday last week it will ban fruit, vegetables, meat, fish, milk and dairy imports from the United States, the EU, Australia, Canada and Norway. The measures were taken in retaliation for the western sanctions against Moscow over the Ukraine crisis.

Editor: Mu Xuequan
Related News
Home >> World            
Most Popular English Forum  
Top News  >>
Photos  >>
Video  >>
Top World News Latest News  
  Special Reports  >>