Discovery lands in Florida, concluding flying career

WASHINGTON, March 9 (Xinhua) -- U.S. space shuttle Discovery landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Wednesday, ending its nearly 27-year flying career as the world's most-traveled spaceship.

According to NASA, Discovery touched down at 11:57 a.m. EST ( 1657 GMT) after a 13-day resupply mission to the International Space Station (ISS).     Full story

 

Endeavor lifts off for final voyage

WASHINGTON, May 16 (Xinhua) -- U.S. space shuttle Endeavor lifts off on Monday morning from Kennedy Space Center in Florida, to deliver to the International Space Station a 2-billion-dollar, multinational particle detector known as the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS).

It is the 25th and final scheduled flight for the spaceship, a 20-year-old space exploration veteran.     Full story

U.S. astronauts wrap up last spacewalk of shuttle era

WASHINGTON, July 12 (Xinhua) -- Two U.S. astronauts stepped out the International Space Station on Tuesday to retrieve a failed ammonia pump, which is the last spacewalk of the shuttle era, NASA announced.

Space station astronauts Mike Fossum and Ron Garan completed the six-hour, 31-minute spacewalk at 3:53 p.m. EDT (1953 GMT). The duo retrieved a pump module from an external stowage platform on station and store it in shuttle Atlantis' cargo bay for return to Earth.     Full story

  Photos 

 

 Related News

Atlantis lands at Kennedy Space Center, ending U.S. shuttle program

WASHINGTON, July 21 (Xinhua) -- U.S. space shuttle Atlantis landed safely at Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Thursday morning, marking the end of the 30-year U.S. space shuttle program.

According to NASA TV, Atlantis touched down at 5:56 a.m. EDT (0956 GMT) after a 13-day service mission to the International Space Station.

With safe return, Atlantis releases era's burden

BEIJING, July 21 (Xinhua) -- As soon as Atlantis landed safely at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida on Thursday, America's space shuttles became a memory that will enjoy a large chapter in scientific history.

America's space program, loaded with success but troubled by financing shortages, has been relieved of its massive budget burden after the 30-year shuttle era came to a close with the Atlantis landing.

Atlantis undocks from International Space Station

U.S. shuttle Endeavour lands in Florida, ends flying career

NASA to name museums for retiring space shuttles

California chosen as retirement home for space shuttle Endeavour

Backgrounders

Backgrounder: Introduction to U.S. space shuttle Discovery's STS-119 mission

Backgrounder: Crew members of U.S. space shuttle Discovery's STS-119 mission

Backgrounder: Introduction to U.S. shuttle Endeavor's STS-134 mission

Backgrounder: Crew members of U.S. shuttle Endeavor's STS-134 mission

Backgrounder: Introduction to U.S. shuttle Atlantis' mission

Videos

Editor: Xiong Tong