Home Page | Photos | Video | Forum | Most Popular | Special Reports | Biz China Weekly
Make Us Your Home Page
Sci & Tech
Most Searched: Auto China  moon rover  Lunar probe  4G  Mars   

Russian cargo ship M-24M docks with ISS

English.news.cn   2014-07-24 16:48:17

MOSCOW, July 24 (Xinhua) -- Russian cargo ship Progress M-24M docked with the Pirs section of the International Space Station (ISS) successfully on Thursday, the Mission Control Center said.

"Progress M-24M's contact with the station took place in a normal mode, at the designated time," according to the center.

It docked with the ISS via a short-track scheme, which was introduced in 2012 and shortened the original two-day trip to six hours.

The transfer hatch between the ship and the station is expected to be opened at 8:20 p.m. Moscow time (1620 GMT), the Interfax news agency reported. The ship is delivering to the ISS more than 2.3 tons of cargo, including oxygen, water, clothes, food, fuel and research equipment.

The freighter was launched early Thursday by Russia's Soyuz carrier rocket from Kazakhstan's Baikonur space center at 1:44 a.m. Moscow time (2144 GMT on Wednesday).

Progress M-24M is the successor of M-23M, which undocked from the ISS on Tuesday and will be sunk in the Pacific Ocean on August 1 after being used for the geophysical experiment "Radar-Progress."

Editor: Fu Peng
分享
Related News
Home >> Sci & Tech            
Most Popular English Forum  
Top News  >>
Photos  >>
Video  >>
Top Science News Latest News  
  Special Reports  >>
010020070750000000000000011100001335082071