Home Page | Photos | Video | Forum | Most Popular | Special Reports | Biz China Weekly
Make Us Your Home Page
China
Most Searched: Xi Jinping   Moon rover  ADIZ  Third plenary session  EU-China  

China's trapped icebreaker makes successful escape

English.news.cn   2014-01-07 21:11:59            

ABOARD XUELONG, Jan. 7 (Xinhua) -- Trapped Chinese research vessel and icebreaker Xuelong made a successful escape through heavy sea ice at 18:30 Beijing time (1030 GMT) Tuesday.

Xuelong, or Snow Dragon, has been making consistent efforts to "veer around" the whole day while navigating through thick floes.

The vessel had a difficult time trying to make a turnaround rightward, which started at 5 a.m. Beijing time (2100 GMT Monday), because of the thick ice and the snow covering the floes.

No breakout was made until about 17:50 Beijing time (0950 GMT) when Xuelong pulled a 100 degree turn and strongly pushed away the ice. Under the huge blow, a big floe right ahead suddenly split up and a channel of open waters showed itself. Xuelong quickly voyaged through the channel and broke free of the ice.

Related:

[Video]Xuelong to break free as ice around loosened

[Photos]Chinese icebreaker Xuelong prepares for breaking-out

[Photos]Normal life of scientists aboard Xuelong undisturbed

Xuelong stands ready to break through in 48 hours

ABOARD XUELONG, Jan. 6 (Xinhua) -- Trapped Chinese research vessel and icebreaker Xuelong on Monday is continuing to make the necessary preparations for possible escape from heavy sea ice in the next 48 hours.

Starting from early morning Tuesday, Xuelong will enforce a 48-hour highest-level emergency state, closely monitoring the movements of surrounding floes and icebergs and standing ready to break through. Full story

Editor: Yang Yi
分享
Related News
Home >> China            
Most Popular English Forum  
Top News  >>
Photos  >>
Video  >>
Top China News Latest News  
  Special Reports  >>
010020070750000000000000011100001330261171