Rwanda bans travel from Ebola hit countries   2014-08-25 21:46:59            

KIGALI, Aug. 25 (Xinhua) -- Rwanda has announced restrictions on travel from Ebola hit West African countries, the ministry of health said in a statement on Monday.

The move follows confirmed cases of Ebola in the neighboring DR Congo, and the escalating spread of the Ebola virus in West Africa.

"The Ministry of Health strongly recommends that all passengers coming from the Republics of Guinea-Conakry, Liberia and Sierra Leone or anyone who has travelled to those countries within the last 22 days be stopped from boarding flights to Rwanda or to enter Rwanda by any means of transport. An exception is only provided for passengers with special authorization signed by the Minister of Health of the Republic of Rwanda," the ministry said in a statement.

"Any passenger with a fever of 37.5 degrees Celsius and above will not be allowed to enter Rwanda. Rwanda returning passengers will be requested to stay at an isolation facility at the border posts for further medical checks and consistent follow up by health professionals accredited by the Ministry of Health, up to clearance as per the Ministry of Health Protocol," the statement said.

The Ministry of Health reassured said surveillance has been strengthened within the community and at all points of entry including all border posts in the country as well as airports.

"Referral hospitals, district hospitals and other health facilities are well equipped and staff have been trained to handle any cases," it said.

Over the weekend, DR Congo government confirmed two Ebola cases, the first outside West Africa since the outbreak.

The UN condemns travel bans on affected areas, but several countries including the Ivory Coast, Gabon, Senegal, Cameroon and South Africa have ordered travel bans to the affected countries.

Editor: Shen Qing
Related News
Home >> Africa