S. African new ministers sworn in   2013-07-11 00:33:17            

JOHANNESBURG, July 10 (Xinhua) -- The newly-appointed South African ministers were sworn in in Pretoria on Wednesday.

Reshuffling his cabinet on Tuesday, President Jacob Zuma removed three ministers and appointed nine ministers and deputy ministers.

Those who were sworn in include Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs Lechesa Tsenoli, Minister of Human Settlements Connie September and Minister of Communications Yunus Carrim.

Prior to his being appointed, Tsenoli worked as the deputy minister of rural development and land reform. He has also been a member of Parliament since 2004.

September has been a member of Parliament since 1999 and member of the Portfolio Committee on Trade and Industry and Portfolio Committee on Water Affairs and Forestry.

Carrim is a former journalist and academic with strong struggle credentials, taking over from Dina Pule as minister of communications. Before the new appointment, Carrim was the deputy minister of cooperative governance and traditional affairs.

On Wednesday afternoon, Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development John Jeffery, Deputy Minister of Science and Technology Michael Masutha and Deputy Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform Pamela Tshwete also took the oath of office.

The ruling African National Congress (ANC) supported President Jacob Zuma's cabinet shakeup, saying the Presidency has a prerogative to reshuffle the cabinet when need arises.

As the tripartite alliance with the ANC and the Communist Party in the government, the Congress of the South African Trade Unions said that they hope the newly-appointed ministers would do well to improve the people's livelihood.

Editor: yan
Related News
Home >> Africa