Brief introduction of Zambia   2012-01-17 15:44:10            

Zambia is located in the central and southern Africa, bordering the Democratic Republic of Congo to the north, Tanzania to the northeast, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia to the south, as well as Angola to the west.

The country covers an area of 752,614 square km, of which the most are high plateau with some hills and mountains. It enjoys tropical climate and a rainy season every year from December to April next year.

The aggregate population is 11. 67 million. The life expectancy at birth is about 38 years. The capital city is Lusaka in the southeast of the country.

In its administrative system, Zambia consists of nine provinces: Central, Copperbelt, Eastern, Luapula, Lusaka, Northern, North-Western, Southern and Western.

Its legal system is based on English common law and customary law, with Supreme Court as the final court of appeal. The legislative branch is the unicameral 158-member National Assembly, among them 150 members are elected by popular vote while eight members are appointed by the president.

In the executive branch, the president is both the chief of state and the head of government, and elected by popular vote for a five-year term and eligible for a second term. The cabinet is appointed by the president among the members of the National Assembly.

Zambia's economy has seen striking growth in recent years. Its real GDP growth rate reached 6 percent in 2007. Agriculture is an important sector of the national economy.

The country is rich in mineral resources including copper, cobalt, zinc, lead, coal, emeralds, gold, silver and uranium etc. Zambia's copper reserve stands at 19 million tons, accounting for almost 6 percent of the world's total. Copper mining and processing is one of its major industries.

Editor: Chen Zhi
Related News
Home >> Africa