Basic facts about Uganda   2012-01-17 15:42:50            

Uganda is a landlocked country which borders Kenya to the east, Sudan to the north, the Democratic Republic of Congo to the west, Rwanda to the southwest and Tanzania to the south.

The country is located across the Equator and enjoys a hot and wet climate throughout the year.

Its size is about 241, 038 square km and is a member of the East African Community, a regional grouping bringing together Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi and Uganda.

Uganda's capital city is Kampala, located on the shores of Lake Victoria, one of the largest fresh water bodies in the world.

The country has an estimated population of about 33 million people of which more than half are below the age of 18 years.

About 80 percent of the country's population depends on agriculture as the source of its livelihood.

Agriculture is the backbone of the country's economy although other sectors like tourism have started coming up.

The country in 2006 discovered commercially viable oil deposits in the western region.

Oil experts say when production starts, Uganda will rank among the top 50 oil producers in the world and among the top 10 producers in Africa.

Editor: Chen Zhi
Related News
Home >> Africa