Introduction of Togolese Republic   2012-01-17 15:40:46            

The Togolese Republic is a country in West Africa bordered by Ghana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north. It extends south to the Gulf of Guinea, on which the capital Lome is located.

Togo covers an area of approximately 57,000 square kilometres with a population of approximately 6.7 million. Approximately one half of the population lives below the international poverty line of 1.25 U.S. dollars a day.

Togo's small sub-Saharan economy is heavily dependent on both commercial and subsistence agriculture, which provides employment for 65 percent of the labor force. Cotton, coffee and cocoa together generate about 40 percent of export earnings.

In the industrial sector, phosphate mining is no longer the most important activity, as cement and clinker export to neighbouring countries have taken over.

Togo is divided into five regions, which are subdivided in turn into 30 prefectures and one commune. From north to south the regions are Savanes, Kara, Centrale, Plateaux and Maritime.

The official language in Togo is French; however, there are many other languages spoken in Togo.

Togo gained its independence from France in 1960. In 1967, Gnassingbe Eyadema led a successful military coup, after which he became president.

At the time of his death in 2005, Eyadema was the longest- serving leader in African history, after having been president for 38 years. In 2005, his son Faure Gnassingbe was elected president.


Editor: Chen Zhi
Related News
Home >> Africa