Basic facts about Rwanda   2012-01-17 15:24:00            

Rwanda is a landlocked country located in the Great Lakes region of eastern-central Africa. It borders with Uganda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DR Congo) and Tanzania.

Although close to the equator, the country has a cool temperate climate due to its high elevation. The terrain consists mostly of grassy uplands and gently rolling hills.

Tourism is one of the biggest sectors of the country's economy.

Rwanda experienced the 1994 genocide which killed an estimated 800,000 people.

It has been making a recovery since the genocide and has now been considered as a model for developing countries, especially for the African countries. Kigali is the capital of the country. It is a member state of the East African Community.

Editor: Chen Zhi
Related News
Home >> Africa