Basic facts about Mozambique   2012-01-17 15:17:05            

Mozambique lies on the east coast of Africa, bordered to the north by Tanzania, to the west by Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and to the south by South Africa and Swaziland.

The African nation has a population of 22 million and an area of 801,600 square km, with Maputo as its capital city and Portuguese as its official language.

Main ethnic groups in Mozambique include Makua, Shona and Shangaan.

Rich in natural resources, Mozambique has a combined forest area of 51 percent of its territory. Its major mineral resources include tantalum, coal, iron, bauxite, uranium, graphite and diamond, with its reserve of tantalum ore ranking first in the world.

Mozambique is an agricultural economy as well as one of the world's least-developed and heavily indebted poor countries as designated by the United Nations. Its industry hinges on the processing of such farm produce as grain and sisal hemp.

In recent years, Mozambican trade volume has increased rapidly with large-scale joint ventures going into production in 2001. Manufacturing has replaced agriculture and fishing as the main export industry.

The principal exports of the country are aluminum ingots, electric power, prawns, sugar and cotton. Its imports include grain, raw materials, oil, machinery and spare parts.

China and Mozambique established diplomatic relations on June 25, 1975. After that, cooperation between the two sides in political and economic fields was further enhanced, with bilateral trade reaching 697 million U.S. dollars in 2010.

Editor: Chen Zhi
Related News
Home >> Africa