Basic facts about Guinea   2012-01-17 14:36:32            

Covering an area of 245,900 square kilometers, the country borders the Atlantic Ocean. Her neighbors include Sierra Leone to the south, Guinea Bissau to the north, and also Liberia, Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Gambia and Senegal. Conakry is the country's capital.

Guinea's population stands at around 9.8 million, according to 2008 figures. People here use French as official language while local languages are also favored by different communities.

The country declared independence in 1958. The death of Guinea's then leader Lansana Conte led to a coup by Captain Moussa Dadis Camara in December 2008.

Situation deteriorated in the country after Sept. 28, 2009, when troops opened fire on a crowd attending an opposition rally in a Conakry stadium protesting Camara's junta. General Sekouba Konate has headed a transition government since the beginning of 2010.

On the economic front, the country stands among the world's poorest, with 40 percent of the population living below the poverty line. However, Guinea is rich in mineral resources, possessing over 40 percent of the world's known reserves of bauxite.

The upcoming presidential run-off, which had initially been scheduled for Sept. 19, is considered as an essential step for returning Guinea to constitutional order.

Editor: Mo Hong'e
Related News
Home >> Africa