Russia launches two satellites
www.chinaview.cn 2009-07-21 14:09:18   Print

    MOSCOW, July 21 (Xinhua) -- Russian Space Forces launched two satellites on Tuesday from the Plesetsk space center in northern Russia, news agencies reported.

    The Cosmos-3M rocket carrying a military satellite and a new civilian satellite named Sterkh blasted off at 07:57 a.m. Moscow time (0357 GMT), and is scheduled to put the satellites into orbit at 09:00 a.m. Moscow time (0500 GMT).

    The Sterkh satellite is designed for the Russian part of the international space search and rescue system COSPAS-SARSAT, aide to the Space Forces commander Lt. Col. Alexei Zolotukhin told Interfax.

    Russia has carried out 17 successful space launches since this year, said the RIA Novosti.

Editor: Fang Yang
Related Stories
Home Sci & Tech
  Back to Top