Bangladesh Election Commission announces results of 299 seats in Parliamentary elections 2008-12-31 14:32:33   Print

    DHAKA, Dec. 31 (Xinhua) -- Bangladesh Election Commission (EC) Wednesday announced the results of 299 seats in the 9th Parliamentary elections held on Monday.

    With the results of 295 seats were announced on Tuesday and 4 more seats were announced on Wednesday, all winners from the 299 constituencies out of 300 in the country are clear.

    The election for one seat was rescheduled to be held on Jan. 12, 2009 due to the death of one candidate.

    According to EC, former prime minister Sheikh Hasina-led Awami League won 231 seats, former prime minister Khaleda Zia-led Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) won 29 seats, former president Muhammad Ershad-led Jatiya Party won 27 seats, JSD won 3 seats, Workers Party of Bangladesh won 2 seats, Bangladesh Jamaate Islamiwon 2 seats, Bangladesh Jatiy a Party won 1 seat, LDP won 1 seat and independents won 3 seats.

    EC will publish the final results of the elections in a government gazette, then the newly-elected members of Parliament will be swore in.

    According to the law, any party which wins majority seats in Parliament election will be qualified to form a government.

    With Hasina-led Awami League won more than two third seats, so Awami League will be qualified to former the next government.

    The 9th Parlimentary election was scheduled to be held on Jan. 22, 2007. Due to the differences between BNP and Awami League over election issues, the political situation deteriorated. President Iajuddin Ahmed on Jan. 11, 2007 had to declared state of emergency and postponed the election.

    The new caretaker government headed by former central bank governor Fakhruddin Ahmed took office on Jan. 12, 2007 and has promised to hold a free and fair elections.

Bangladesh's ex-PM Hasina's Awami League gets landslide majority in parliamentary election 

Bangladeshi former prime minister and major political party Bangladesh Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina casts her ballot in Dhaka, capital of Bangladesh, on Dec. 29, 2008. Polling started at 8 a.m. peacefully across Bangladesh on Monday to elect the country's 9th Parliament amidst toughest security. (Xinhua/Qamruzzaman)

Bangladeshi former prime minister and major political party Bangladesh Awami League chief Sheikh Hasina casts her ballot in Dhaka, capital of Bangladesh, on Dec. 29, 2008.  (Xinhua/Qamruzzaman)
Photo Gallery>>>

     DHAKA, Dec. 30 (Xinhua) -- Bangladesh's former prime minister Sheikh Hasina's Awami League (AL) has got landslide majority in the ninth parliamentary election held on Monday, according to the latest primary results announced by the Election Commission early Tuesday.

     The primary results of 229 constituencies updated at 6:25 a.m. local time (0025 GMT) were available.  Full story

Turnout rate in Bangladesh's ninth parliamentary election highest in history

     DHAKA, Dec. 28 (Xinhua) -- The voters turnout rate in Bangladesh's ninth parliamentary election on Monday was approximately 80 to 90 percent, which is a new record, a senior official said.

     Secretary of Bangladesh's Election Commission Humayun Kabir told Xinhua early on Tuesday that the turnout rate this time is the highest in history while it was 75 percent in 2001 parliamentary elections.  Full story

Bangladeshis cast votes in parliamentary elections in festive atmosphere

     DHAKA, Dec. 29 (Xinhua) -- Tens of millions of Bangladesh voters on Monday crowded into polling stations across the country and queued to cast votes in the country's long-awaited ninth parliamentary elections.  Full story

Editor: Yang Lina
Related Stories
Home World
  Back to Top