Chinese parliament approves premier, CMC vice-chairmen 2008-03-16 11:07:35   Print

Special Report: NPC, CPPCC Annual Sessions 2008

    BEIJING, March 16 (Xinhua) -- Wen Jiabao was approved Sunday morning by legislators to start another five-year term as Chinese premier, and Guo Boxiong and Xu Caihou were approved to be vice-chairmen of the Central Military Commission (CMC) of the People's Republic of China.

    Liang Guanglie, Chen Bingde, Li Jinai, Liao Xilong, Chang Wanquan, Jing Zhiyuan, Wu Shengli and Xu Qiliang were approved to be CMC members.

    Through secret ballot, Wang Shengjun was elected president of the Supreme People's Court, while Cao Jianming was elected procurator-general of the Supreme People's Procuratorate.

    China's Constitution stipulates that the candidate for premier of the State Council shall be nominated by the president of the state, and the candidates for vice-chairmen and members of the CMC shall be named by the CMC chairman. All the candidates are subject to voting at the National People's Congress (NPC), the parliament.

    A total of 2,968 NPC deputies attended the sixth plenary meeting of the First Session of the 11th NPC on Sunday.

Editor: Yao Siyan
Related Stories
Home China
  Back to Top