African table tennis qualifiers to Beijing Olympic Games unveiled 2007-07-22 19:43:28   Print

    ALGIERS, July 22 (Xinhua) -- The African Table Tennis Federation has unveiled the player namelist that had qualified forthe 2008 Beijing Olympic Games following the end of Saturday's table tennis event at the All Africa Games, local media reported on Sunday.

    Africa thus became the first continent to nominate its representatives for the quadrennial sporting spectacular.

    The table tennis event competition, which was started on July 12, came to an end on Saturday. A total of seven gold medals were generated, in which African table tennis power Nigeria snatched four golds, the Republic of Congo bagged two and Egypt took the other one.

    Nigeria collected the four golds in men's single, men's doubles, women's doubles and women's team event. The Republic of Congo took the two golds in women's single and the mixed doubles. Egypt won the gold in men's team event.

    Nigeria's defending champion Segun Moses Toriola again won the gold in Saturday's men's single final. He also teamed up with Monday Merotohun to clinch the men's doubles crown on Wednesday.

    Top seeds, Nigeria's Offiong Edem and Cecilia Offiong, duly asserted their authority on proceedings and underlined their top seeded billing by winning gold in the women's doubles on Wednesday.

    Congo's Yang Fen took the gold in women's single on Saturday. Earlier she had teamed up with Saka Suraju to win the mixed doubles gold.

    As a result, Congo joined hands with Egypt to break Nigeria's monopoly in the table tennis event. Four years ago at the eighth edition of the quadrennial Games, Nigeria swept all the seven golds in this event.

    Following are the qualified African namelist for the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games:


    Segun Toriola (Nigeria), Monday Meotohun (Nigeria), El-Sayed Lashin (Egypt), Saka Suraju (Republic of Congo), Idir Khurta (Algeria) and Adel Massaad (Egypt)


    Bosse Kaffo (Nigeria), Yang Fen (Republic of Congo), Cecilia Offiong (Nigeria), Nesrine Belkahia (Tunisia), Safa Saidani (Tunisia) and Shaimaa Abdul Aziz (Egypt)

Editor: Yao Siyan
Related Stories
Home Sports
  Back to Top