Tools:Print|E-mail Us|Most Popular
Donald Tsang unveils new HKSAR gov't lineup 2007-06-23 18:26:37
  Adjust font size:

    HONG KONG, June 23 (Xinhua) -- Chief Executive of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Donald Tsang unveiled the lineup of the third-term HKSAR government principal officials on Saturday, pledging to create a better future for Hong Kong people.

    Shortly after the Central People's Government of China approved the Chief Executive's nominations for the appointments of principal officials of the third-term HKSAR government, Donald Tsang called a press conference to introduce his governance team.

    The Chief Executive briefed the reporters about the new team's tasks, the start of a new term, new ideas and new initiatives.

    "We know that we are likely to encounter unpredictable events and trials on the road ahead. But, I am fully confident that our new team will do its utmost to lead the public service, and will work together wholeheartedly with the Legislative Council and the community to create a better future for everyone who lives here," said a beaming Tsang.

    According to the central government's appointments, the new lineup of the third-term HKSAR government includes incumbent principal officials in the second-term HKSAR government and several new faces.

    Henry Tang has been named Chief Secretary for Administration and John Tsang will be the next Financial Secretary. Wong Yang Lung maintains the post of Secretary for Justice, according to the appointments.

    Under the third-term HKSAR government, which will be installed on July 1, 2007, there are several changes in bureau directors and/ or their posts. Stephen Lam keeps the newly expanded post of Secretary for Constitutional and China's mainland Affairs. Michael Suen will take up the role of Secretary for Education. Frederick Ma moves to the altered post of Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development.

    Tsang Tak-sing will be Secretary for Home Affairs. Matthew Cheung will take up the new Secretary for Labor and Welfare post. Prof. K.C. Chan is to be Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.

    Carrie Lam will be Secretary for Development, a new post. Edward Yau will take the role of Secretary for the Environment. Eva Cheng will be the Secretary for Transport and Housing.

    Several bureau chiefs will maintain their existing posts, including Secretary for Security Ambrose Lee, Secretary for Food and Health Dr. York Chow and Secretary for the Civil Service Denise Yue.

    Meanwhile, heads of disciplined services were readjusted. Commissioner of Police Tang King-shing keeps his post. Timothy Tong has accepted the role of Independent Commission Against Corruption Commissioner (ICAC). Lai Tung-kwok will be the Director of Immigration, and Richard Yuen will be the Commissioner of Customs and Excise. Benjamin Tang remains the Director of Audit.

    Norman Chan has been appointed Director of the Chief Executive's Office, while Prof. Lau Siu-kai maintains his role as Head of the Central Policy Unit.

    The Chief Executive said the appointments of principal officials of the third-term HKSAR government by the central government will help ensure stability and continuity, as well as add some new blood to his governing team.

    "All of the members of my new team have displayed in their work a strong sense of pragmatism that I promote," Donald Tsang said.

    "While the backgrounds of principal officials are diverse, they all share a common commitment to our country, our territory and our people and agree with my governing philosophy," Tsang said.

    "Given their talents and abilities, they are the best candidates for these senior positions," he said, adding "they will make a great team together."

    The Chief Executive also extended his utmost gratitude towards the outgoing Chief Secretary for Administration Rafael Hui and the five Directors of Bureaux. "During times of adversity, they resolutely remained with the HKSAR government to loyally serve our people. Looking back, we can see that Hong Kong has overcome one challenge after another. Today, we are back on track, moving forward, and our economy has been growing impressively, Tsang said.

    "While thanks should go to the Hong Kong people for their determination and resilience, as well as their understanding and support for the HKSAR government, we must also pay tribute to the meritorious service of these principal officials," Tsang added.

Editor: Lin Li
Tools:Print|E-mail Us|Most Popular
Related Stories
State Council appoints principal officials of 3rd HKSAR gov't
HK remains prosperous under "one country, two systems"
Profile of Hong Kong gov't official: Suen Ming-yeung
Profile of Hong Kong gov't official: Ma Si-hang
Profile of Hong Kong gov't official: Richard Yuen Ming-fai
Home China
  Back to Top